Welsh Grand Prix 2 Bowl Pairs

Sat 01 Apr 2017

Entries open for the Welsh Grand Prix 2 Bowl Pairs.

Entry Fee: £27.50 (£13.75 per player)


  • Pairs will be split into groups of 4.
  • The top 2 in each group will qualify for the main Cup knock-out.
  • The remaining 2 pairs in each group go into the Plate competition.
  • Matches played over 11 ends.

Note: Timings are a guide only and may vary.

Prize Money

Champions £300
Runners-up £100

* Prize money and format is subject to entries.

Featured Players

Rules: Welsh Grand Prix

  • The Dress Code is relaxed, except that footwear must be proprietary bowling shoes or sandals.
  • The number of ends to be played in each game will be as follows: 2 Bowl Pairs = 10 ends, 3 Bowl Pairs = 8 ends.
  • 2 bowls per player in 2 Bowl Pairs. 3 bowls per player in 3 Bowl Pairs.
  • 2 dead ends are allowed per team per match; the 3rd and any subsequent dead ends will be 3 shots away and the end will count except for the last end of a match where it will be 3 shots away and the end replayed.
  • Players may visit the head at any time.
  • Players must indicate both verbally and by raising their arm, to notify all players on their mat and those on neighbouring mats, whenever they intend to play a running bowl. This is to ensure everyone’s safety.
  • Players should play in adherence with the SMPT Code of Conduct. Suspected collusion or other unsporting behaviour may result in immediate expulsion from the competition, and may affect acceptance in future SMPT events.
  • Any disputes must be raised with the Competition Organisers at the time. In this, and in all other matters, the Competition Organisers' decision is final and binding.
  • Both teams are responsible for keeping their own scorecards and ensuring that both scorecards are the same.
  • Scorecards must be signed by both teams at the end of a game.
  • Measuring may be done by players, umpires or the Competition Organisers.
  • In the Group Stages 3 points will be awarded for a win and 1 point for a draw.
  • Group positions will be decided by:
    • Points
    • Relative head to head results (results against those tied on the same points)
    • Total shot difference
    • Shots for
    • If all the above are equal a 3 end play-off will determine the positions. See 'Tie-break Rules' below.
  • A team who for whatever reason misses one group game, will still be allowed to continue in the event. The opponents in the missed game will be awarded with the win, 3 points and 1 shot for each of the scheduled number of ends for games at the event e.g. 10 end pairs games would be a 10 v 0 win and 8 end pairs games would be a 8 v 0 win.
  • A team who for whatever reason misses two or more group games will be withdrawn from the event. All teams in the group will be awarded with the win, 3 points and 1 shot for each of the scheduled number of ends for games at the event e.g. 10 end pairs would be a 10 v 0 win and 8 end pairs would be a 8 v 0 win. Any results recorded against the withdrawn team prior to withdrawal will not be counted.
  Tie-break Rules
  • The SMPT’s best of 3 end tie-break will be used in Knockout rounds to decide which team progresses when a game finishes as a draw. It will also be used to determine the positions in a group if teams finish equal on all of the following: points, relative head to head results (results against those tied on the same points), total shot difference and shots for.
  • 1 bowl per player.
  • Toss to start – winner has the choice of taking the jack on 1st & 3rd ends, or 2nd end.
  • Closest bowl to the jack wins the end.
  • First team to win 2 ends wins the match.
  • Touchers are not marked. Any bowl entering the ditch area will be removed.
  • Each team may cause one dead end in the tie-break without penalty; the end to be replayed. A team causing a 2nd dead end will automatically lose that end.
  • A tied end will count as 0.5 ends to each team.
  • If, after 3 ends the score is 1.5 ends each, a one end sudden death play-off will take place. Toss to start.
All rules will be ESMBA, apart from those listed above.
Loading Map....

Useful Information


All Entries

  • Alan Sly + Mary Adamson-Leigh
  • Alan Spicer + Brian McGivern
  • Alastair McCrea + Steve Buckett
  • Amanda Drage + Rachel Pedley
  • Andrew Jones + Chris Mcwhinnie
  • Andy Howard + Sam Moore
  • Barrie Goodchild + Richard Williams
  • Barry Whitburn + Bobbie Whitburn
  • Bent Nielsen + John Pajak
  • Brad Rundle + Chole Rundle
  • Brenda Crowe + Josie Robinson
  • Chris Banfield + Susan Banfield
  • Chris Holder + Martyn Davies
  • Christopher Hillier + AN Other
  • Dafydd Howell + Jamie Stiles
  • Daniel Sands + Keith Lackford
  • Daniel Winmill + Karl Hudson
  • Darren Stanford + Pauline Taylor
  • David Chittock + Mark Chittock
  • David Sinton + John Adair
  • Debbie Dillon + Mitchell Young
  • Derek Coates + Chris Coates
  • Derek Mccallion + Gerard Mccloskey
  • Dom Reed + Nigel Reed
  • Elliott James + George Main
  • Emily Poulter + Greg Wade
  • Ethan Jones + Gavin Matthews
  • Geraint Morgan + Arwel Morgan
  • Gethin Edwards + Aled Edwards
  • Ian Ford + Martyn Dubb
  • James Bucknall + Neil Bucknall
  • James Trott + Sam Harvey
  • Jo Lau + Daniel Griffiths
  • John Lax + Lee Whiteley
  • John Matthews + Debs Matthews
  • John Mills + John Jillings
  • Keith Morgan + Vera Morgan
  • Lorraine Axtell + Graham James
  • Mark Allen + Jeanette Allen
  • Martin Harries + Chris Martin
  • Maz Prowse + Dee Green
  • Mike Wright + Steve Puttock
  • Natalie Evans + Andrew Evans
  • Nick Evans + Liz Jones
  • Osian Elias + Tom Harris
  • Paul Dent + Janet Dent
  • Paul Hudson + Andrew Hudson
  • Paul Seaman + Stephen Proctor
  • Pauline Mannell + Jim Mannell
  • Philip Ladd + Richard Arran
  • Ray Young + Sue Young
  • Rebecca Cox + Shirley Cox
  • Rhys Evans + Cennydd Howell
  • Richard Palmer + Elin Palmer
  • Richard Prowse + Darren Davies
  • Ricky Pyle + Gill Willis
  • Saul Featherstone + Martyn Featherstone
  • Sean Hughes + Simon Lewis
  • Shirley Parnell + John Parnell
  • Stephen McAlister+ AN Other
  • Stephen Williams + Jonathan Payne
  • Stephen Wilson + Sheila Wilson
  • Steve Killington + Peter Fautley
  • Steve Perris + Adam Smith
  • Steven Roberts + Angela Roberts
  • TBC + Andre Bann
  • Terry Crawford + Nathan Haire
  • Thomas Perris + Maggie Smith
  • Wendy Ford + Mark Hollis
  • Yolanda Featherstone + Williams Crawford

Ross Dunkley & Philip Warr claim TSR Legal Welsh Grand Prix 2 Bowl Pairs title

Bookings are closed for this event.

What if I don't have a PayPal account?

Enter offline for the Welsh Grand Prix 2 Bowl Pairs

The recommended method to secure your entry into SMPT events is to enter online and pay through Paypal, however entry forms can be downloaded and sent by post with a cheque included. Any entry forms submitted without a cheque for the full price of entry will be void.

You will be sent confirmation once your entry has been approved.

Download an entry form for the Welsh Grand Prix 2 Bowl Pairs