World Masters

Sat 16 Apr 2016 - Sun 17 Apr 2016

Entries for the World Masters are currently closed.

Featured Players

Rules: World Ranking Events (Singles)

  • The Dress Code is relaxed, except that footwear must be proprietary bowling shoes or sandals.
  • 12 ends to be played in each game (except for the Irish Open and World Masters, where due to the larger number of entries games will last 10 ends).
  • 4 bowls per player.
  • 2 dead ends are allowed per player per match; the 3rd and any subsequent dead ends will be 3 shots away and the end will count except for the last end of a match where it will be 3 shots away and the end replayed.
  • Players may visit the head at any time.
  • Players must indicate both verbally and by raising their arm, to notify the marker and those on neighbouring mats, whenever they intend to play a running bowl. This is to ensure everyone’s safety.
  • Players should play in adherence with the SMPT Code of Conduct. Suspected collusion or other unsporting behaviour may result in immediate expulsion from the competition, and may affect acceptance in future SMPT events.
  • Any disputes must be raised with the Competition Organisers at the time. In this, and in all other matters, the Competition Organisers’ decision is final and binding.
  • Both players are responsible for keeping their own scorecards and ensuring that both scorecards are the same. Markers are not responsible for completing scorecards.
  • Scorecards must be signed by both players at the end of a game.
  • Measuring may be done by players, markers, umpires or the Competition Organisers.
  • All players will be expected to mark and have been automatically allocated to games in the Group Stages. In the Knockout stages players are expected to mark the game after they are knocked out. This ensures all players share the marking duties equally.
  • In the Group Stages 3 points will be awarded for a win and 1 point for a draw.
  • Group positions will be decided by:
    • Points
    • Relative head to head results (results against those tied on the same points)
    • Total shot difference
    • Shots for
    • If all the above are equal a 3 end, 2 bowl play-off will determine the positions. See ‘Tie-break Rules’ below.
  • A player who for whatever reason misses one group game, will still be allowed to continue in the event. For the purposes of deciding the group standings, the opponent in the missed game will receive a 12-0 shots win and 3 points.
  • A player who for whatever reason misses two or more group games will be withdrawn from the event. For the purposes of deciding the group standings, all other players in the group will receive a 12-0 shots win and 3 points. Any results recorded against the withdrawn player prior to withdrawal will not be counted.

Tie-break Rules

In Knockout rounds a tied game will be decided by a 3 end tie break –
  • 2 bowls per player.
  • Toss to start – winner has choice of taking the jack on 1st & 3rd ends, or 2nd end.
  • Closest bowl to the jack wins each end.
  • First player to win 2 ends wins the match.
  • Touchers are not marked. Any bowl entering the ditch area will be removed.
  • Each player may cause one dead end in the tie-break without penalty; the end to be replayed. A player causing a 2nd dead end will automatically lose that end.
  • A tied end will count as 0.5 ends to each player.
  • If, after 3 ends the score is 1.5 ends each, a one end sudden death play-off will take place. Toss to start.
All rules will be ESMBA, apart from those listed above.
Loading Map....

Useful Information


Belfast Indoor Bowls Club (Website)
115 Milltown Road


Special room rates for the World Masters and Belfast Open are now available from our partners Crowne Plaza Belfast.

For full hotel information please visit

To make a booking:
– Call: 028 9092 3500 & quote ‘Short Mat Players
– Email: & quote ‘Short Mat Players Tour

Prices from:
£99.00, Bed & Breakfast, per Single Room per night
£109.00, Bed & Breakfast, per Twin Occupancy Room per night
(Supplement for 3rd person: £40.00 extra)

Prices include free WIFI, free onsite parking, tax, service and VAT.

Special rates, (15% off Best Flexible Rate), are also available at the following sister hotels:
1. Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre. (Previously Days Hotel).
2. Holiday Inn Express Belfast Queens Quarter.

Self-catering Accommodation

Drumlin Lane Self Catering
Two and three bedroom self-catering accommodation located a 25 minute drive from the Irish and World Masters venue at Belfast Indoor Bowls Club.

Rated 4 Star by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and 5 Star by our guests, why not enjoy your stay in Northern Ireland at Drumlin Lane where you can relax in the rolling County Down countryside. Alternatively, if you can’t beat your friends at bowls, challenge them on our pool and table tennis tables, or take your frustration out on the trampoline. Dine out in the nearby village of Hillsborough at the famous Plough, or stroll round the gardens at the Royal residence at Hillsborough Castle. Get out of the city, and see a some more of Northern Ireland on your next trip, whether that be a bowling weekend of something a little longer.

Website: Drumlin Lane Self Catering

All Entries

  • Adam Dyche
  • Adam Gilmour
  • Adrian McCaw
  • Alan McCombe
  • Alan Spicer
  • Alastair McCrea
  • Alistair Mahaffy
  • Andrew Cockcroft
  • Andrew Evans
  • Andrew Ritchie
  • Andrew Robinson
  • Andy Howard
  • Angela Roberts
  • Angus Barnes
  • Annie Cunningham
  • Arwel Morgan
  • Bobby Logan
  • Carmel McKim
  • Cennydd Howell
  • Charlie Clarke
  • Ciaran Green
  • Colin Dunwoody
  • Colin Glackin
  • Dafydd Howell
  • Darin Graydon
  • David Brian
  • David Chittock
  • David Cunningham
  • David McCullough
  • Denver Wasson
  • Derek Corscadden
  • Drew Davidson
  • Edward Sawbridge
  • Elise Daniell
  • Esther Forster
  • Finbar Maguire
  • Fiona McDermott
  • Frank Cunningham
  • Gary Brian
  • Gemma Hamilton
  • George Fletcher
  • Geraint Morgan
  • Gerard Conroy
  • Gerard Glackin
  • Glen Henry
  • Glenn Weir
  • Gunnar Frantzen
  • Hannah Cochrane
  • Ian Hobson
  • Ivan Craig
  • Ivor Armstrong
  • James Robinson
  • James Shaw
  • Jamie Crozier
  • Jamie Glackin
  • Jamie Morrow
  • Joel Häger
  • John Barnard
  • John Elliot
  • John McCallion
  • John Quinn
  • Jonathan Barnes
  • Jordan Sheaffer
  • Joseph Beattie
  • Justin Rafferty
  • Katrine McDermott
  • Kevin McNamee
  • Lawrence Moffat
  • Lee Devenney
  • Lee Jacob
  • Malcolm Hurst
  • Mark Chittock
  • Mark Hamilton
  • Mark McHugh
  • Mark Moore
  • Matthew Hamilton
  • Michael McKim
  • Michael Reid
  • Mike Wright
  • Nigel Graham
  • Nigel Graham
  • Nigel Hamilton
  • Nigel Nicholls
  • Nigel Norris
  • Norris Sheaffer
  • Patrick Gilroy
  • Paul Cairnduff
  • Paul Seaman
  • Pauline Beattie
  • Peter Hore
  • Peter Roberts
  • PJ Gallagher
  • Rachel Cochrane
  • Rebecca Gilroy
  • Richard Truell
  • Ricky Cochrane
  • Robert Kristiansen
  • Robin Gamble
  • Rodger Armour
  • Rodney Cunningham
  • Seamus McMath
  • Shane Clyde
  • Sophie McIntyre
  • Stephen Clarke
  • Steve Puttock
  • Steven Jeffers
  • Steven Roberts
  • Tanya Armstrong
  • Theresa Cushnahan
  • Tony Bell
  • Trevor Brian
  • Uel Gordon
  • Ulf Hällstrand
  • Vanessa McHugh
  • William Devenney
  • William Esler
  • William Parkinson
  • Willie McHugh

Online bookings are not available for this event.

What if I don't have a PayPal account?

Enter offline for the World Masters

The recommended method to secure your entry into SMPT events is to enter online and pay through Paypal, however entry forms can be downloaded and sent by post with a cheque included. Any entry forms submitted without a cheque for the full price of entry will be void.

You will be sent confirmation once your entry has been approved.

Download an entry form for the World Masters