• Pairs will be split into groups of 4
  • The top 2 in each group will qualify for the main Cup knock-out
  • The remaining 2 pairs in each group will go into the Plate competition
  • Matches played over 10 ends

Note: Timings are a guide only and may vary.

Prize Money


Champion £400
Runner-up £200
Semi-finalists £100


Plate Champion £55
Plate Runner-up £27.50

Featured Players

Rules: Welsh Grand Prix

  • The Dress Code is relaxed, except that footwear must be proprietary bowling shoes or sandals.
  • The number of ends to be played in each game will be as follows: 2 Bowl Pairs = 10 ends, 3 Bowl Pairs = 8 ends.
  • 2 bowls per player in 2 Bowl Pairs. 3 bowls per player in 3 Bowl Pairs.
  • 2 dead ends are allowed per team per match; the 3rd and any subsequent dead ends will be 3 shots away and the end will count except for the last end of a match where it will be 3 shots away and the end replayed.
  • Players may visit the head at any time.
  • Players must indicate both verbally and by raising their arm, to notify all players on their mat and those on neighbouring mats, whenever they intend to play a running bowl. This is to ensure everyone’s safety.
  • Players should play in adherence with the SMPT Code of Conduct. Suspected collusion or other unsporting behaviour may result in immediate expulsion from the competition, and may affect acceptance in future SMPT events.
  • Any disputes must be raised with the Competition Organisers at the time. In this, and in all other matters, the Competition Organisers' decision is final and binding.
  • Both teams are responsible for keeping their own scorecards and ensuring that both scorecards are the same.
  • Scorecards must be signed by both teams at the end of a game.
  • Measuring may be done by players, umpires or the Competition Organisers.
  • In the Group Stages 3 points will be awarded for a win and 1 point for a draw.
  • Group positions will be decided by:
    • Points
    • Relative head to head results (results against those tied on the same points)
    • Total shot difference
    • Shots for
    • If all the above are equal a 3 end play-off will determine the positions. See 'Tie-break Rules' below.
  • A team who for whatever reason misses one group game, will still be allowed to continue in the event. The opponents in the missed game will be awarded with the win, 3 points and 1 shot for each of the scheduled number of ends for games at the event e.g. 10 end pairs games would be a 10 v 0 win and 8 end pairs games would be a 8 v 0 win.
  • A team who for whatever reason misses two or more group games will be withdrawn from the event. All teams in the group will be awarded with the win, 3 points and 1 shot for each of the scheduled number of ends for games at the event e.g. 10 end pairs would be a 10 v 0 win and 8 end pairs would be a 8 v 0 win. Any results recorded against the withdrawn team prior to withdrawal will not be counted.
  Tie-break Rules
  • The SMPT’s best of 3 end tie-break will be used in Knockout rounds to decide which team progresses when a game finishes as a draw. It will also be used to determine the positions in a group if teams finish equal on all of the following: points, relative head to head results (results against those tied on the same points), total shot difference and shots for.
  • 1 bowl per player.
  • Toss to start – winner has the choice of taking the jack on 1st & 3rd ends, or 2nd end.
  • Closest bowl to the jack wins the end.
  • First team to win 2 ends wins the match.
  • Touchers are not marked. Any bowl entering the ditch area will be removed.
  • Each team may cause one dead end in the tie-break without penalty; the end to be replayed. A team causing a 2nd dead end will automatically lose that end.
  • A tied end will count as 0.5 ends to each team.
  • If, after 3 ends the score is 1.5 ends each, a one end sudden death play-off will take place. Toss to start.
All rules will be ESMBA, apart from those listed above.
Loading Map....

Useful Information


Cardiff Bowling Club (Website)
Sophia Gardens
CF11 9SZ


Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Helmont House, 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2NB

Distance: 1.2 miles to Cardiff Bowling Club


Premier Inn Cardiff City South

Address: East Moors Industrial Estate, Keen Rd, Cardiff CF24 5JT

Distance: 2.4 miles to Cardiff Bowling Club



Address: The Friary, Queen St, Cardiff CF10 3AD

Distance: 0.9 miles to Cardiff Bowling Club


TSR Legal Welsh Grand Prix 3 Bowl Pairs: The Draw

The draw for the TSR Legal Welsh Grand Prix 3-Bowl Pairs has now been made. You can see the groups below or to see the full draw please visit here.
Group 01
Dimitri Payne + Jonathan Payne
James Bucknall + Neil Bucknall
Ian Hobson + James Shaw
Anthony Poole + Robert Watson
Group 02
John Matthews + Richard Arran
Joel Hager + Jonas Hager
Barrie Goodchild + Richard Williams
Ryan Adair + John Adair
Group 03
Ian Ford + Mark Hollis
Arwel Morgan + Jack Shepard
David Alner + Karen Alner
Brenda Crowe + Josie Robinson
Group 04
John Parnell + Shirley Parnell
Chris Willies + Luke Haddon
Tom Harris + Stephen Williams
Ray Young + Sue Young
Group 05
Philip Ladd + Wyn Davies
John Lax + Matty Worden
Nigel Reed + Dom Reed
Gary McNabb + Gerard Conroy
Group 06
Steve Puttock + Mike Wright
Gethin Edwards + Aled Edwards
Chris Coates + Derek Coates
Rebecca Cox + Shirley Cox
Group 07
Karl Symmonds + Mark Thorpe
Andre Bann + Bridget Hallowes
Trevor Brian + Daniel Wilson
Alan Spicer + Brian McGivern
Group 08
Alan Berry + Hazel Berry
Mark Allen + Lorraine Axtell
Peter Roberts + Liam Smith
Geraint Morgan + Lee Lewis
Group 09
Dorian Hudson + Alun James
Dafydd Howell + Rhys Evans
Natalie Evans + Andrew Evans
Susanne Lidholm + Christer Almen
Group 10
Steve Proctor + Keith Lackford
Desmond Pengelly + Alan Holden
Mitchell Young + Sadie Young
Stephen Wilson + Sheila Wilson
Group 11
Steve Stanton + Sam Harvey
Steve Buckett + Colin Dickinson
Adam Smith + Paul Seaman
Aaron Clare + Callum Beale
Group 12
John Jillings + John Mills
Edward Sawbridge + Chris Williams
Ryan Abraham + John Pye
Pauline Mannell + Jim Mannell
Group 13
Gareth Davies + Martyn Davies
Karl Hudson + Dan Winmill
Frans Roberts + Greta Roberts
Kirsty Hatch + Andrew Jones
Group 14
Chris Mcwhinnie + Andrew Jones
David Chittock + Mark Chittock
Yolanda Featherstone + Bill Crawford
Don Mcnamara + Derek McCann
Group 15
Malcolm Sheen + Andy Thompson
Chris John + Mikey John
RJ Woolsey + David Sinton
Allan Evans + Andrew Evans
Group 16
Di Rundle + Dean Rundle
Wendy Ford + Martin Dubb
Richard Prowse + Darren Davies
Debs Matthews + Gavin Matthews
Group 17
Allan Williams + Peter Rees
Adam Easthope + Richard Walker
Glenn Harvey + Vincent Dornan
James Trott + Paul Pomeroy
Group 18
Elliott James + George Main
Simon Lewis + Sean Hughes
Lars Hansen + Ulf Hällstrand
Steve Killington + Paul Bax
Group 19
Thomas Perris + Steve Perris
Craig Burgess + Phil Mills
Tom Archer + Steve Collins
Ross Dunkley + Philip Warr
Group 20
Rory Gittoes + Ted Gittoes
Richard Palmer + Elin Palmer
James Gladstone + Jon Gladstone
Alun Thomas + Ricky Pyle
Group 21
Tom Clough + Ryan Knight
Saul Featherstone + Jo Lau
Craig Evans + Luke Harwood
Tommy Dahlgren + Bente Dahlgren
Group 22
Paul Baller + Dan Baller
Barry Whitburn + Bobbie Whitburn
Antonio Rinaldi + Erwin Vanlangenakker
Nick Evans + Liz Jones

Bookings are closed for this event.

What if I don't have a PayPal account?

Enter offline for the Welsh Grand Prix 2 Bowl Pairs

The recommended method to secure your entry into SMPT events is to enter online and pay through Paypal, however entry forms can be downloaded and sent by post with a cheque included. Any entry forms submitted without a cheque for the full price of entry will be void.

You will be sent confirmation once your entry has been approved.

Download an entry form for the Welsh Grand Prix 2 Bowl Pairs