World Rankings and Order of Merit update

Since our first ranking system was introduced for the 2012/13 season, we have implemented a series of successful developments, all of which mean we now have a model that accurately reflects the overall performance of all players across a season.

The person(s) at the top of the rankings at the end of each season has been awarded the Order of Merit crown, before the rankings were reset so that all players started the new season on a level playing field with zero points.

From the start of the 2015/16 season the current ranking points model will once again be used and the Order of Merit prize will be awarded as in previous seasons. There will however be a change to the way the World Rankings are calculated. All players’ rankings points will be carried over from the 2014/15 season and the points they amass at all six ranking events in 2015/16 will be added to their 2014/15 tally. Therefore, at the end of 2015/16 each player’s ranking points total will consist of the points earned at the 12 world ranking events in 2014/15 and 2015/16.

In 2016/17 the Order of Merit will continue the same as before, however once the first ranking event has been completed the ranking points earned will replace the ranking points awarded in the first event in 2014/15. This rolling pattern will continue throughout 2016/17 and subsequent seasons so that after the completion of a new event, the ranking points earned will replace those awarded at an older event (12 events previously).

The Order of Merit will still be used to determine qualification for the SMPT World Cup, but the credibility of the World Rankings will be further enhanced.

Official Sponsors
Bowls Trader
Nordic Caravan
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Bowls is Bowls
Techniheat Plant Services